• en
    • fr

Peter Klasen

Born in 1935 in Lübeck, Germany
Lives and works in Vincennes, France

In the early 1960s, the artist produced airbrushed canvases. To his colourful paintings with their vibrant stretches of at colour, he added objects, often made of metal. Peter Klasen’s work is steeped in its era. Haunted by the destruction of Germany during World War II, the artist depicts a cold industrial, technical urban world in the 1960s, to which he would add the urban culture of street art in the 1980s and digital technologies in the 1990s. Often illuminated by harsh neon lighting, his compositions often encompass warmer fragments that let hope peep through.

 

Accepted at the College of Fine Arts in Berlin, which was then Germany’s premier avant-garde school, Peter Klasen took classes from great artists influenced by Bauhaus and German expressionism. As winner of the German industrial sponsorship prize, he received a study grant and chose to set off for Paris where he would establish his studio.

 

In 1964, Peter Klasen and 34 other artists participated in the narrative figuration movement’s exhibition entitled “Mythologies quotidiennes”. Now a major figure in that artistic trend that marked the revival of imagery in painting, the artist pursued a career of international renown. The retrospective at the ARC Museum of Modern Art of the City of Paris in 1971 would be his rst solo show at a museum of stature.

Exposé(s) chez nous :

Peter Klasen

Né en 1935 à Lübeck, Allemagne
Vit et travaille à Vincennes, France

Au début des années 1960, Peter Klasen réalise des toiles peintes à l’aérographe. À ses peintures colorées en aplats vibrants, il ajoute des objets, souvent métalliques. L’œuvre de Peter Klasen baigne dans son époque. Hanté par la destruction d’une Allemagne pendant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale, l’artiste décrit un monde industriel, technique, urbain et froid dans les années 1960, auquel s’ajoute la culture urbaine du street art dans les années 1980, puis le numérique dans les années 1990. Souvent éclairées par des néons crus, les compositions englobent souvent des fragments chaleureux qui laissent poindre aussi l’espoir.

 

Admis à l’École des Beaux-Arts de Berlin, qui est alors l’école d’avant-garde en Allemagne, Peter Klasen suit les cours des grands artistes influencés par le Bauhaus et l’expressionnisme allemand. Lauréat du prix du Mécénat de l’industrie allemande, il reçoit une bourse d’étude et choisit de partir pour Paris et y installe son atelier.

 

En 1964, Peter Klasen participe, avec 34 autres artistes, à l’exposition du mouvement figuration narrative, intitulée « Mythologies quotidiennes ». Devenu une des figures majeures de ce courant artistique qui marque le renouveau de l’image dans la peinture, l’artiste poursuit une carrière de renommée internationale. La rétrospective à l’ARC Musée d’Art Moderne de la Ville de Paris en 1971 sera la première exposition monographique dans un musée d’envergure.

Exposé(s) chez nous